Review: The Color Project by Sierra Abrams

22892448

Title: The Color Project
Author: Sierra Abrams
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary
Format: Kindle Edition
Publisher: Gatekeeper Press
Release Date: August 17th, 2017
Buy links: Book depository | Amazon US | Amazon UK
Link to Goodreads
Goodreads Summary:

Bernice Aurora Wescott has one thing she doesn’t want anyone to know: her name. That is, until Bee meets Levi, the local golden boy who runs a charity organization called The Color Project.

Levi is not at all shy about attempting to guess Bee’s real name; his persistence is one of the many reasons why Bee falls for him. But while Levi is everything she never knew she needed, giving up her name would feel like a stamp on forever. And that terrifies her.

When unexpected news of an illness in the family drains Bee’s summer of everything bright, she is pushed to the breaking point. Losing herself in The Color Project—a world of weddings, funerals, cancer patients, and hopeful families that the charity funds—is no longer enough. Bee must hold up the weight of her family, but to do that, she needs Levi. She’ll have to give up her name and let him in completely or lose the best thing that’s ever happened to her.

For fans of Stephanie Perkins and Morgan Matson, THE COLOR PROJECT is a story about the three great loves of life—family, friendship, and romance—and the bonds that withstand tragedy.

3stars

Lees verder

Review: Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

6482837

Title: Before I Fall
Author: Lauren Oliver
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Format: Paperback, 386 pages
Publisher: Hodder Paperbacks
Release Date: February 9th, 2017 (movie tie-in)
Buy links: Book depository | Amazon US | Amazon UK
Link to Goodreads
Goodreads Summary:

What if you had only one day to live? What would you do? Who would you kiss? And how far would you go to save your own life?

Samantha Kingston has it all: the world’s most crush-worthy boyfriend, three amazing best friends, and first pick of everything at Thomas Jefferson High—from the best table in the cafeteria to the choicest parking spot. Friday, February 12, should be just another day in her charmed life.

Instead, it turns out to be her last.

Then she gets a second chance. Seven chances, in fact. Reliving her last day during one miraculous week, she will untangle the mystery surrounding her death—and discover the true value of everything she is in danger of losing.

4stars Lees verder

Review: Ewan Pendle and the White Wraith by Shaun Hume

35422555

Title: Ewan Pendle and the White Wraith
Author: Shaun Hume
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Format: Kindle, 496 pages
Publisher: Popcorn & Rice Publishing
Release Date: October 31st, 2012
Buy links: Amazon UK
Link to Goodreads
Goodreads Summary:

Ewan Pendle was weird. Really weird. At least, that’s what everyone told him. Then again, being able to see monsters that no one else could wasn’t exactly normal …

Thinking he has been moved off to live with his eleventh foster family, Ewan is instead told he is a Lenitnes, one of an ancient race of peoples who can alone see the real ‘Creatures’ which inhabit the earth. He is taken in by Enola, the mysterious sword carrying Grand Master of Firedrake Lyceum, a labyrinth of halls and rooms in the middle of London where other children, just like Ewan, go to learn the ways of the Creatures.

3stars Lees verder

Review: Brieven aan de Duisternis door Brigid Kemmerer (Dutch)

34640099

Title: Brieven aan de Duisternis
Author: Brigid Kemmerer
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary
Format: Paperback, 376 pages
Publisher: Young & Awesome
Release Date: June 1st, 2017
Buy links: Bol.com
Link to Goodreads
Goodreads Summary:

Juliet Young has always written letters to her mother, a world-traveling photojournalist. Even after her mother’s death, she leaves letters at her grave. It’s the only way Juliet can cope.

Declan Murphy isn’t the sort of guy you want to cross. In the midst of his court-ordered community service at the local cemetery, he’s trying to escape the demons of his past.

When Declan reads a haunting letter left beside a grave, he can’t resist writing back. Soon, he’s opening up to a perfect stranger, and their connection is immediate. But neither of them knows that they’re not actually strangers. When real life at school interferes with their secret life of letters, Juliet and Declan discover truths that might tear them apart. This emotional, compulsively-readable romance will sweep everyone off their feet.

4stars Lees verder

Review: Fragile by Jandra Sutton

35446898

Title: Fragile
Author: Jandra Sutton
Genres: Young Adult
Format: eBook, 152 pages
Publisher: Wild Hare Collective
Release Date: July 5th, 2017
Buy link: Amazon US
Link to Goodreads
Goodreads Summary:

What does it mean to be normal?

It’s such a loaded word, with about a billion different meanings, and every one of them makes Ava Collins sick.

At 17, Ava has been deaf for as long as she can remember. She grew up constantly reminded that she wasn’t – and couldn’t – be normal, that she needed to be ‘fixed’, but it wasn’t until she met Theo De Vries that she learned the truth.

Deaf doesn’t mean broken, it means different. And different isn’t a bad thing.

5stars Lees verder

#AmCurrently – Where I feel like a baby giraffe, finish up my freshman year and fight with webdesign

Who thought it would be a great idea to update you guys on my life? Yes, you’re right. It was the person in the back. Yep, that one. Anyway, I wanted to let you all know how I’m doing, what I’m doing, and what I’d like to do instead.

#AmCurrently feeling like a baby giraffe. I have had surgery a few weeks ago and my cast is now gone, which is nice, but I’m still walking like a baby giraffe. It’s a struggle, really, because it takes so much energy. Whenever I’m at school I’m like: okay, stay cool, be bubbly and then when I’m on the train back home I’m sleeping, because it takes so much of me. I hope to walk normal again by the end of the summer. Lees verder

Review: First Life by Gena Showalter

25785357
Title:
 Eerste Leven (First Life)
Author: Gena Showalter
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Format: Paperback, 446 pages
Publisher: HarperCollins Young Adult
Release Date: March 21st, 2016
Buy links: Book depository | Amazon US | Amazon UK
Link to Goodreads
Goodreads Summary:

ONE CHOICE.
TWO REALMS.
NO SECOND CHANCE.

Tenley “Ten” Lockwood is an average seventeen-year-old girl…who has spent the past thirteen months locked inside the Prynne Asylum. The reason? Not her obsession with numbers, but her refusal to let her parents choose where she’ll live—after she dies.

There is an eternal truth most of the world has come to accept: Firstlife is merely a dress rehearsal, and real life begins after death.

In the Everlife, two realms are in power: Troika and Myriad, longtime enemies and deadly rivals. Both will do anything to recruit Ten, including sending their top Laborers to lure her to their side. Soon, Ten finds herself on the run, caught in a wild tug-of-war between the two realms who will do anything to win the right to her soul. Who can she trust? And what if the realm she’s drawn to isn’t home to the boy she’s falling for? She just has to stay alive long enough to make a decision…

4stars Lees verder

Things That Will Make Me Instantly NOT Want To Read A Book

I’m going to confess that this will be a difficult topic, since I usually read quite a lot. Nevertheless, there are things I do not like, and I am going to list them for you.
This Top Ten Tuesday is also brought to you with gifs, because gifs are everything.

(Just now realized this was last weeks topic. No hard feelings.)

  1. Zombies. I just don’t like it. I’ve never liked it. To be honest, I’m kind of afraid…
    4-2
  2. Instalove. This is a tricky one, since I do read books with instalove, but this usually means I don’t know about it. But yeah, it’s surreal. It’s not realistic and that’s why I don’t like it.
    idgi
  3. Horror/thriller. I am such a pussy when it comes to horror/thriller books. Seriously. I don’t even watch horror/thriller movies, because that means I won’t sleep for the next three months. Horror/thriller is a no go for me. I like sleep. I want to keep it that way.
  4. Aliens. I am so sorry. I’ve never been into aliens and I don’t really like it.
  5. Christian books. I hope I don’t hurt people’s feelings with this, because I absolutely don’t want that. It just isn’t my cup of tea.
  6. Erotica.
    giphy (1)
  7. Bad grammar. Don’t you just hate it when that happens?
  8. ‘The new…’ I get it. But you can never replace Harry Potter or renew it. Whenever I read this on the backside of a book, I think: “Alright, that’s nice, but why?” I mean, it’s great you do that, but it could never be Twilight or Harry Potter, since those are stories on their own.
  9. Love triangle.
    754
  10. Super arrogant characters. Okay, buddy. Take it ten steps back and don’t return. I just get so frustrated with super arrogant characters.
    635957888914013386-846168834_tumblr_lq5cw5hx7o1r0mfiao1_500

What’s a no go for you?

 

What Have I Been Up To? #2

Hey everyone,

I wanted to do a small update on what I’ve been doing for the last couple of weeks, since I wasn’t here as much as I wanted.

  • University is a mess. My mind says uni, but my heart says isolated sheep herder, you know? University has been extremely busy. We had so many deadlines and projects. I literally cried because of the stress. Thank goodness I got all my EC’s, but still, it was extremely hectic and hard. This was the main reason I couldn’t be here, because I was so extremely busy. I just didn’t have the time to read and to blog and to handle my bookstagram all at the same time. Sacrifices had to be made.
  • I went to the Harry Potter exhibition. And it was so amazing you won’t believe. All those props and facts about the Harry Potter movie. I died and went to heaven, let me tell you that. It was incredible and I want to go back.

Lees verder