Review: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

15507958.jpgTitle: Me Before You (Voor Jou, Dutch version)
Author: Jojo Moyes
Series: Me Before You #1
Genres: Adult, Fiction
Format: Paperback, 428 pages
Publisher: de Fontein
Release Date: January 5th, 2012
Goodreads Summary:

Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

5stars

Review

The book begins with characters you almost instantly like. Lou is cheerful and chatty and Will is sarcastic and has dry humor. They are total opposites, but fit together well.
Lou is on a mission to change Will’s mind, but will soon notice that it’s not that simple and realizes it will involve some obstacles.

The story is realistic and heartbreaking and wonderful. It’s not your happily ever after, but that doesn’t matter, because it’s right and true. There were times when I was giggling and a few pages later I was crying again. The characters were realistic and imperfect and that made them so lovable. All of them were trying to find their place in the world.

The focus of the story is about life and making choices. Living life to the fullest and simply enjoy; see the world, do things and move on. Where someone’s story ends, a new chapter begins for someone else.
There blossomed love under unexpected circumstances and the main characters flourished, both in their own way. I understood the choices that were made and even though I cried like crazy, I agreed. What had I done? That question kept going through my head. Will his life was dedicated to action. After his accident that was no longer possible and meant that Will had become someone else. It was, as he said,  not his life anymore. Therefore, for that reason, I understood his decisions.

I would love to discover Jojo Moyes her other work.

Twitter Pinterest Goodreads E-Mail Bloglovin Bloglovin

4 gedachtes over “Review: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

  1. Nathalie zegt:

    I was also pleasantly surprised about this one! Everybody was just so enthusiastic about this that I had to read it and I wasn’t disappointed, I just loved it! Glad you enjoyed it just as much as I did. I really loved Lou, she’s the sweetest and often made me laugh out loud.

    Like

  2. Cait @ Paper Fury zegt:

    I haven’t read this one yet, but omg, I’ve heard SO MUCH about it sine the movie trailer released! And even though I’m not the biggest fan of adult contemporary…I’m kind of seriously curious now. ;D (And the movie looks terrific too, heeh.) Plus I do so love dry sarcasm!
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Like

    • thedailyplanets zegt:

      So did I! There were so many comments about this book, so I was like: I HAVE TO READ IT! I usually don’t read that much adult contemporary, but I had to read this one. I absolutely loved it. If you have time, you should definitely read it and be prepared to cry! 😉

      Like

Geef een reactie

