Review: After You by Jojo Moyes

thumbTitle: After You
Author: Jojo Moyes
Series: Me Before You #2
Genres: Adult, Fiction
Format: Hardcover, 407 pages
Publisher: Penguin Random House UK
Release Date: September 24th, 2015
Goodreads Summary:

Lou Clark has lots of questions.

Like how it is she’s ended up working in an airport bar, spending every shift watching other people jet off to new places.

Or why the flat she’s owned for a year still doesn’t feel like home.

Whether her close-knit family can forgive her for what she did eighteen months ago.

And will she ever get over the love of her life.

What Lou does know for certain is that something has to change.

Then, one night, it does.

But does the stranger on her doorstep hold the answers Lou is searching for – or just more questions?

Close the door and life continues: simple, ordered, safe.

Open it and she risks everything.

But Lou once made a promise to live. And if she’s going to keep it, she has to invite them in . . .

3.5stars

Review

After You begins 18 months after Me Before You. Louisa is mourning. She can’t understand why Will is gone. Didn’t he love her enough to stay?
She finds it difficult to adapt to the ‘new world’, away from her own town. After an accident she is forced to go back to live at home. This provides the necessary obstacles.
The story shows the struggle from different characters with the death of Will. It shows how all of them handle it. There were new characters introduced and I enjoyed many. For example Ambulance Sam. Ambulance Sam is a-ma-zing. I truly loved him, because he was so kind and understanding and was dealing with a loss, too. But we also have Lily. In the beginning I couldn’t stand Lily, just because she was so selfish and egocentric. However when we get to know Lily, I really started to like her. I understood why she reacted the way she did. I kept wanting to know more. Lily needed Lou in a way Lou also needed Lily.


If you do not compare the book with Me Before You this is a good book on its own. Many people criticize this book, because it’s not as good as Me Before You. That’s right, because this is not Me Before You. Yes, I absolutely loved Me Before You and was dying to know more, but then I realized that Will and Lou’s story ended. It fit, it was right and it was heart-breaking, but I did end. It’s not necessary to read this one. Thinking about it, reading Me Before You is enough. But, I couldn’t resist this one, because I wanted more Lou.

I thought it was a good story and at times it was very humorous and compelling. It shows the struggle of Lou after the death of Will. It shows how Lou keeps moving and sees that there are things in life to live for. It’s not Will and Lou anymore, but Lou on herself and that makes it worth all the effort; how Lou falls and gets up and continues to grow. How everyone grows and deals with loss in their own ways.

Twitter Pinterest Goodreads E-Mail Bloglovin Bloglovin

2 gedachtes over “Review: After You by Jojo Moyes

  1. Nathalie zegt:

    I wasn’t so sure I wanted to read this because I loved Me Before You so much, so I told myself to wait for your review and if you’ll like this I should probably read this too. So I think it’s safe to read after you 😉 I actually found Louisa such a very likeable character that I’m sure I will enjoy this one too.

    Like

Geef een reactie

