Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

77493_original

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Format: Ebook, 432 pages
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s
Release Date: May 7th, 2015
Goodreads Summary: 

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

5stars

Review

When Feyre accidentally kills a faerie, she is forced to live with the beast that captures her. A life for a life. The captor is not a monstrous animal, but Tamlin, the High Lord of the Spring Court.
She hated him first, but her feelings transform from an icy hate to a fiery passion and burning desire. As she roams his lands, she discovers the dark shadows growing over Prythian and she soon finds out that she will be an important part in the battle against it, even though she’s only human.

I have heard many great things about Sarah J. Maas, but sadly I’ve never read her work. Until now. I was so pleased to finally start ACOTAR. Maas does not disappoint. She promises and delivers.

The story is a re-telling of Beauty and the Beast and has faeries included and it’s simply phenomenal. The plot is fascinating, seductive and thrilling and the world building is beyond words. I found myself wandering the gardens of the Spring Court, because it all seemed so real, so near. I could picture it, could imagine how it would be like; it was as if I was there.

Maas has a way of writing which leaves you wanting more. I couldn’t stop reading. There was so much I needed to know and had to find out. There were so many intriguing details and wonderful chemistry. This book keeps you on edge; it’s sensational and has you in its grip.

The characters were astonishing and keep surprising. I mean, they kept surprising me. The creatures are carefully considered and brought to life. The whole world is remarkable and I loved the magic. Every character has gone through such a development, especially Feyre. She didn’t know Prythian and was taught to despise it, but eventually wants to fight for its freedom.

The relationship between Tamlin and Feyre was excellent built. It had depth and passion and was captivating. You felt the bond between them, the understanding and the lengths they would go to to save each other. I swooned. I swooned so much. It was so beautifully written. It was emotional and painful and breathtaking.

This was an extraordinary begin of a wonderful series and I can’t wait to get my copy of A Court of Mist and Fury. I can’t wait to find out what Maas has in store for us. To find out what will happen to Feyre.

 

 

Have you read A Court of Thorns and Roses? What did you think? Or are you going to read it?

Twitter Pinterest Goodreads E-Mail Bloglovin Bloglovin

2 gedachtes over “Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury zegt:

    I’m glad you enjoyed this one so much! HUZZAH for 5-star reads, right?!? I read it last year and sadly wasn’t in love or anything, but I do so love the world. And omg wasn’t the ending so creepy and awesome?!?! My heart was pounding. 😂

    Like

Geef een reactie

