Review: City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

city-of-bones
Title:
 City of Bones
Author: Cassandra Clare
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Format: Paperback, 506
Publisher: Walker Books
Release Date: July 2nd, 2007
Buy links: Book depository | Amazon US | Amazon UK
Link to Goodreads
Goodreads Summary:

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder― much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing―not even a smear of blood―to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know…

4stars

I marked this book as TBR two years ago. Two years. Can you imagine? I’ve bought it two months ago on a book fair and was so glad they finally had it there. Yeah, I’m that late.
It’s funny, because when me and one of my best friends were in London, she actually watched Shadowhunters during breakfast and I was like: I should watch it, too. I mean, I’ve wanted to since they announced it was going to be a tv show, but sadly I haven’t had the time.

So, what is it about? It’s bacially about Shadowhunters slaying demons. That’s it. That’s the shortest summary I’ve ever given.
No, for real. It’s about Clary Fray discovering the world of Shadowhunters. To be more specific, we discover it with her.

Clare has built an incredible world, which takes you in right away. Even though there are more plots like this, it still does a great job in drawing you in. I have a weak spot for fantasy worlds and I always want to know more. I got curious about the Glass City and the Bone City and wanted to know more about them. That’s when I know the writer is doing a good thing. The book got my attention.

The characters were fun to get to know and I picked out my favorites right away (Magnus and Alec, hello). Jace could be annoying sometimes, because he is so full of  himself, but most of the time I had to snicker.  I loved being on an adventure with them and reading all the demonic difficulties they had to face. Reading about all different kinds of demons is kind of wonderful, because every demon has different instructions. Do I kill it that way or that? Where does it go?
Demons actually roam the night and if you’re gifted with the Sight, like Clary, the only thing you have to do is open your mind and look. Werewolves and vampires and all kinds of Downworlders meet up in a bar and it’s the most normal thing in the world.

The plot is interesting and has some plot twists, but most of them were easy to guess. The ending had me hooked and came completely unexpected. Because of that ending, I want to read further. I want to know why it is as it is. I want to know more about Valentine and Jocelyn and their world. I want to follow the Shadowhunter journey.

All by all, it’s funny, packed with action and entertaining. If you loved Harry Potter and Vampire Academy you’re good to go.

Have you read City of Bones? What did you think?

Twitter Pinterest Goodreads E-Mail Bloglovin Bloglovin

Een gedachte over “Review: City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

  1. Pingback: May Wrap Up

Geef een reactie

