Review: Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl


9780141346144Title:
 Beautiful Creatures
Authors: Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Format: Paperback, 528 pages
Publisher: The House of Books
Release Date: January 22nd, 2013
Buy links: Book depository | Amazon US | Amazon UK
Link to Goodreads
Goodreads Summary:

Lena Duchannes is unlike anyone the small Southern town of Gatlin has ever seen, and she’s struggling to conceal her power, and a curse that has haunted her family for generations. But even within the overgrown gardens, murky swamps and crumbling graveyards of the forgotten South, a secret cannot stay hidden forever.

Ethan Wate, who has been counting the months until he can escape from Gatlin, is haunted by dreams of a beautiful girl he has never met. When Lena moves into the town’s oldest and most infamous plantation, Ethan is inexplicably drawn to her and determined to uncover the connection between them.

In a town with no surprises, one secret could change everything.

5stars

I have a weak spot for these kind of books. Perhaps you found that out or perhaps you will find that out quite soon. It’s a fact. I’ll be reading these books for eternity. I promise you that.

Ethan Wate, the male protagonist, tells the story. We see everything that happens through his eyes, which is very pleasing, because I’m really used to female protagonists.
Ethan lives in a boring southern town called Gatlin, where nothing ever happens or has happened before. Everything changes when Lena Duchannes comes into town.

Gatlin is full of secrets, whom nobody knows off. Ethan starts to realize these things, when Lena comes into town. He’s drawn to her and they share a connection which leads to dangerous revelations.

Beautiful Creatures is full of mysteries. One even bigger than the other. Some leaving your mouth hanging open and some just breaking your heart. It has a lot of backstory in it and to my surprise, I longed for them. I just wanted to get more flashbacks and get to know more about the curse holding the Duchannes family in its grip. Yes, my friends, there is a curse and it is mysterious and the closer you get to it, the more you lose your grip on reality, because I have been reading this book for night after night. I have messed up my sleeping schedule. I have pushed my duties aside. I wanted to unravel this curse. I wanted to fight it. That’s what Lena and Ethan do. They try to fight it, to unravel it and most of all, to not let it separate each other. They get to know more about the world of Casters and alongside, we do, too.

In other words, this is basically a story about a boy who loves a girl very passionately and is terrified of letting her go. It’s a story about love, passion, death, magicchoices, finding yourself and most of all not letting people decide who you truly are.

It took me three years to pick this series up and I’m looking at myself, thinking: why didn’t you do this sooner, silly? I bought the first three books like three months ago on a book fair. I’m so glad I started this series and am looking forward to dive into the sequel. Hello, world of Casters, here’s another mortal.

Twitter Pinterest Goodreads E-Mail Bloglovin Bloglovin

3 gedachtes over “Review: Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

  1. Pingback: June Wrap Up

Geef een reactie

