Review: Beautiful Chaos by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

10757833
Title:
 Beautiful Chaos (Chaos, Dutch version)
Authors: Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Format: Paperback, 496 pages
Publisher: The House of Books
Release Date: April 9th, 2013
Buy links: Book depository | Amazon US | Amazon UK
Link to Goodreads
Goodreads Summary:

Ethan Wate thought he was getting used to the strange, impossible events happening in Gatlin, his small Southern town. But now that Ethan and Lena have returned home, strange andimpossible have taken on new meanings. Swarms of locusts, record-breaking heat, and devastating storms ravage Gatlin as Ethan and Lena struggle to understand the impact of Lena’s Claiming. Even Lena’s family of powerful Supernaturals is affected – and their abilities begin to dangerously misfire. As time passes, one question becomes clear: What — or who — will need to be sacrificed to save Gatlin?

For Ethan, the chaos is a frightening but welcome distraction. He’s being haunted in his dreams again, but this time it isn’t by Lena – and whatever is haunting him is following him out of his dreams and into his everyday life. Even worse, Ethan is gradually losing pieces of himself — forgetting names, phone numbers, even memories. He doesn’t know why, and most days he’s too afraid to ask.

Sometimes there isn’t just one answer or one choice. Sometimes there’s no going back. And this time there won’t be a happy ending.

3.5stars

I’m not sure if this is going to be a realistic review. I read this book during my reading slump. It took me nearly three weeks to finish and I think it made me look different towards the story. Not because I didn’t like it, because I did, but because I could not pick the book up. We held starting contests, but I just couldn’t get myself to read it.

Beautiful Chaos is a step up from Beautiful Darkness. We go deeper in the story and things get serious. Ethan has to choose between life and death. He has a say in the chaos now. He realizes he’s much more worth than being just a normal mortal.

Beautiful Chaos did justice to its name. There’s chaos in the Caster and Mortal world and Ethan and his friends and loved ones try to find order again. Try to save both worlds.

I loved the characters, especially Link. Link is probably my favorite character. I just can’t get enough of him. But there were also new characters introduced, who were very essential and I liked them. I liked the creepy ones and the nice ones and even the dark ones. I liked getting another piece of the Caster world.

There are twists and revelations and at the end my mind was a big Beautiful Chaos, too. Some twists were so unexpected. There’s more action and more painful events and sometimes I just wanted to rip the pages out of my book because YOU CAN’T DO THAT TO THAT CHARACTER.

The ending left me hanging. I just had to dive into the series finale, this time without reading slump. 😉

Twitter Pinterest Goodreads E-Mail Bloglovin Bloglovin

2 gedachtes over “Review: Beautiful Chaos by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

Geef een reactie

