Review: City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare

3229373
Title:
 City of Ashes
Author: Cassandra Clare
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Format: Paperback, 411 pages
Publisher: Walker Books
Release Date: July 7th, 2008
Buy links: Book depository | Amazon US | Amazon UK
Link to Goodreads
Goodreads Summary:

Clary Fray just wishes that her life would go back to normal. But what’s normal when you’re a demon-slaying Shadowhunter, your mother is in a magically induced coma, and you can suddenly see Downworlders like werewolves, vampires, and faeries? If Clary left the world of the Shadowhunters behind, it would mean more time with her best friend, Simon, who’s becoming more than a friend. But the Shadowhunting world isn’t ready to let her go—especially her handsome, infuriating, newfound brother, Jace. And Clary’s only chance to help her mother is to track down rogue Shadowhunter Valentine, who is probably insane, certainly evil—and also her father.

To complicate matters, someone in New York City is murdering Downworlder children. Is Valentine behind the killings—and if he is, what is he trying to do? When the second of the Mortal Instruments, the Soul-Sword, is stolen, the terrifying Inquisitor arrives to investigate and zooms right in on Jace. How can Clary stop Valentine if Jace is willing to betray everything he believes in to help their father?

4stars

It took me quite some time to pick up City of Ashes, because I didn’t own the series yet, so I also had to take my time to roll into the story again. It definitely did not disappoint me, even though it took me some time to get through. Why didn’t it disappoint? Because we got to see so much more of the Shadowhunters’ world. We got introduced to Downworlders, which I especially liked. Piece by piece the world unravels.

I was so afraid I was going to dislike Jace again. Remember when I said that I found him annoying? Well, Clare got that off the table. I started to like it, even thought it as funny. Thank goodness. I love how Jace is so full of himself and so sarcastic. It’s fantastic.

Even though the beginning is quite slow, I liked how the action came later on. Again, when I finished this book I just had to dive into the next one. Clare makes you do that. I couldn’t just put it away and sit and think about it. I had to dive into the sequel.

What I really loved was that every character has a POV. That way we get to know so much more. It’s not just Clary. Now we got to know what everyone’s doing and how everyone’s reacting. I liked that. It made me feel a part of the story.

This was a great sequel to a wonderful series and Cassandra Clare makes me want to live in their world.

Twitter Pinterest Goodreads E-Mail Bloglovin Bloglovin

Geef een reactie

