Review: City of Glass by Cassandra Clare

5607787
Title:
 City of Glass
Author: Cassandra Clare
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Format: Paperback, 508 pages
Publisher: Walker Books
Release Date: July 6th, 2009
Buy links: Book depository | Amazon US | Amazon UK
Link to Goodreads
Goodreads Summary:

To save her mother’s life, Clary must travel to the City of Glass, the ancestral home of the Shadowhunters—never mind that entering the city without permission is against the Law, and breaking the Law could mean death. To make things worse, she learns that Jace does not want her there, and her best friend, Simon, has been thrown in prison by the Shadowhunters, who are deeply suspicious of a vampire who can withstand sunlight.

As Clary uncovers more about her family’s past, she finds an ally in mysterious Shadowhunter Sebastian. With Valentine mustering the full force of his power to destroy all Shadowhunters forever, their only chance to defeat him is to fight alongside their eternal enemies. But can Downworlders and Shadowhunters put aside their hatred to work together? While Jace realizes exactly how much he’s willing to risk for Clary, can she harness her newfound powers to help save the Glass City—whatever the cost?

5stars

City of Glass was one of my favorite books in this series. So much that happened. From plot twists, and let me tell you: it were a lot, to my favorite characters being freaking adorable and brave.

I loved how we finally got to see Idris and not just New York. So much is revealed about the world of Shadowhunters and I truly enjoyed that. I loved getting to know more about Idris and Alicante and all its flaws and perfections. I loved the setting of it.

The new characters were interesting. Especially Sebastian. He’s mysterious and you can’t really get a hold of him. Which, of course, makes you want to know more.

Like I said, so much happens in this book. This book is packed with heartbreak, loss, actionlove and twists.

The end truly surprised me. Like, I had absolutely not expected that to happen. I was amazed Cassandra did that and I actually kept saying yes in my head, because I loved it! Well, not the other things. The things where my favorite characters were in danger. That was not okay.

 

8 gedachtes over “Review: City of Glass by Cassandra Clare

Geef een reactie

