Review: City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare

11100298
Title:
 City of Fallen Angels
Author: Cassandra Clare
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Format: Paperback, 435 pages
Publisher: Walker Books
Release Date: 2011
Buy links: Book depository | Amazon US | Amazon UK
Link to Goodreads
Goodreads Summary:

Who will fall in love, and who will find their relationship torn apart?

Who will betray everything they ever believed in?

Love. Blood. Betrayal. Revenge.

In the heart-pounding fourth installment of the Mortal Instruments series, the stakes are higher than ever.

4stars

This book gave me so much Simon. I LOVED IT. Simon’s POVs are my favorite and he’s grown so much as character. I confess, Simon is one of my favorite characters. He’s having a hard time in City of Fallen Angels. His mother has thrown him out of the house, believing he’s possessed by a demon. Eventually he meets Kyle, a new character, which is very interesting, because he’s unknown and we don’t know anything about him. Kyle isn’t very talkative about his past, so we definitely have to dig for his past. Which was a surprise. A big one.

Have I told you that I absolutely love Malec? I adore them so much. So, lucky me, they went on a world tour together and it was absolutely hilarious! Can you imagine Jace showing pictures of Magnus in lederhosen? It’s amazing.

I quite liked the plot, because there were new characters and some ancient demons. I thought that was very interesting, as I quite like mythology. The action wasn’t really in battles, but more in battles the characters were having with themselves. That gets you caught up.

The ending left me standing there whispering wait what? I had absolutely not expected that, which happens quite a lot in this series. Clare’s doing a great job in surprising me and bringing me of guard. Kudos for that!

2 gedachtes over “Review: City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare

  1. the other one zegt:

    When I first read this book, it was my least favourite. I enjoyed Simon’s POV, and Kyle’s shocking twist– but I wanted more Clace! I’ve reread since then, it’s pretty much my favourite. Did you end up reading TID beforehand? There would’ve been some characters that popped up (Camille) that you wouldn’t recognise.

    Liked by 1 persoon

Geef een reactie

