Review: Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

7171637
Title:
 Clockwork Angel
Author: Cassandra Clare
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Format: Hardcover, 479 pages
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry
Release Date: August 31st, 2010
Buy links: Book depository | Amazon US | Amazon UK
Link to Goodreads
Goodreads Summary:

In a time when Shadowhunters are barely winning the fight against the forces of darkness, one battle will change the course of history forever. Welcome to the Infernal Devices trilogy, a stunning and dangerous prequel to the New York Timesbestselling Mortal Instruments series.

The year is 1878. Tessa Gray descends into London’s dark supernatural underworld in search of her missing brother. She soon discovers that her only allies are the demon-slaying Shadowhunters—including Will and Jem, the mysterious boys she is attracted to. Soon they find themselves up against the Pandemonium Club, a secret organization of vampires, demons, warlocks, and humans. Equipped with a magical army of unstoppable clockwork creatures, the Club is out to rule the British Empire, and only Tessa and her allies can stop them…

5stars

Fun fact: I bought this book in a thrift-store and when I scanned it on Goodreads, it said: first edition. And I was like: ??!!! Alright, back to the review.

I’ve heard so many things about the Infernal Devices. People like it better than the Mortal Instruments or less. What about me? Well, I had no idea what to expect, so I dove into it open-minded. I decided that if I didn’t have expectations, it could always be better. And it was! I absolutely loved Clockwork Angel. I loved the setting of the nineteenth century and no internet or cellphones or whatsoever.

Tessa Gray was great. Absolutely terrific. I loved her so much. Her world gets turned upside down in an instant and the way she deals with it is truly admiring. I respected her. I guess I liked her better than Clary. She just discovered the Shadow World and that she’s a warlock. She’s trying to live with the fact that she, as she calls it, is a monster.

Will, well… What do we say about Will? I’ve had some difficulties with him. Maybe I just need to get used to him, like I had with Jace. Will is just so rude. I guess there’s more to him than I now know and I’m happy to find out!

Jem is my precious angel and needs to be protected at all costs. I loved him so much, just like Tessa. I hereby announce my next ship. Jem and Tessa. Yep, definitely. He’s just so kind and understanding to everyone. I need more pages with Jem.

I loved all the mysteries and I can’t wait to unravel them all. It keeps you reading and that’s always a reason to keep turning the pages.

Tessa is discovering who she really is and I can’t wait to discover it with her.

Een gedachte over “Review: Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

Geef een reactie

