Review: Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare

10025305
Title:
 Clockwork Prince
Author: Cassandra Clare
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Format: Hardcover, Collector’s First Edition, 502 pages
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry
Release Date: December 6th, 2011
Buy links: Book depository | Amazon US | Amazon UK
Link to Goodreads
Goodreads Summary:

In the magical underworld of Victorian London, Tessa Gray has at last found safety with the Shadowhunters. But that safety proves fleeting when rogue forces in the Clave plot to see her protector, Charlotte, replaced as head of the Institute. If Charlotte loses her position, Tessa will be out on the street—and easy prey for the mysterious Magister, who wants to use Tessa’s powers for his own dark ends.

With the help of the handsome, self-destructive Will and the fiercely devoted Jem, Tessa discovers that the Magister’s war on the Shadowhunters is deeply personal. He blames them for a long-ago tragedy that shattered his life. To unravel the secrets of the past, the trio journeys from mist-shrouded Yorkshire to a manor house that holds untold horrors, from the slums of London to an enchanted ballroom where Tessa discovers that the truth of her parentage is more sinister than she had imagined. When they encounter a clockwork demon bearing a warning for Will, they realize that the Magister himself knows their every move—and that one of their own has betrayed them.

Tessa finds her heart drawn more and more to Jem, but her longing for Will, despite his dark moods, continues to unsettle her. But something is changing in Will—the wall he has built around himself is crumbling. Could finding the Magister free Will from his secrets and give Tessa the answers about who she is and what she was born to do?

As their dangerous search for the Magister and the truth leads the friends into peril, Tessa learns that when love and lies are mixed, they can corrupt even the purest heart.

4stars

This took me 33 days. I can’t even explain how sad I was, because I just hadn’t had time to read. On the other side, I was kind of glad, too. I got to enjoy it longer, which was kind of nice. Reading about Jem longer. That’s all I want in life, basically.

I quite liked this plot, because we get to know Tessa more. I mean, I wanted to know where she came from, what she is and we sort of did. We see Tessa growing and she’s involved in the Shadow World, which she handles incredibly. We get to know more about Will and his background story, which is very interesting. Jem is as always such a kindhearted soul and I just want to protect him with my life. I’m serious. Stay away from Jem.

Normally I’m not really the right person for love-triangles, but this one is AMAZING and I am so not complaining. Clare writes it perfectly. With perfectly I mean I can’t choose between the two boys. I want them both to end up with Tessa. It’s a difficult world, y’all.

I love the quotes in this book and the literature and poetry. Tessa and Will both love poetry and literature and it’s so amazing to learn more about that. Jem loves music and I love Jem.
Everything is perfectly balanced out together. Like, I still don’t know who to ship. Wessa? Or Jessa? My heart says Jessa. My mind says Wessa. I DON’T KNOW.

I adore Clare’s writing, because she describes her characters beautifully. There’s diversity in her books and feminism, I mean, look at Charlotte and Tessa.

I’m not ready for Clockwork Princess. One thing’s for sure: I will probably read all of Clare’s books.

4 gedachtes over “Review: Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare

Geef een reactie

