Review: Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

13600168
Title:
 Daughter of Smoke and Bone
Author: Laini Taylor
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Format: Paperback, 420 pages
Publisher: Hodder Paperback
Release Date: August 5th, 2012
Buy links: Book depository | Amazon US | Amazon UK
Link to Goodreads
Goodreads Summary:

Errand requiring immediate attention. Come.

The note was on vellum, pierced by the talons of the almost-crow that delivered it. Karou read the message. ‘He never says please’, she sighed, but she gathered up her things.
When Brimstone called, she always came.”

In general, Karou has managed to keep her two lives in balance. On the one hand, she’s a seventeen-year-old art student in Prague; on the other, errand-girl to a monstrous creature who is the closest thing she has to family. Raised half in our world, half in ‘Elsewhere’, she has never understood Brimstone’s dark work – buying teeth from hunters and murderers – nor how she came into his keeping. She is a secret even to herself, plagued by the sensation that she isn’t whole.

Now the doors to Elsewhere are closing, and Karou must choose between the safety of her human life and the dangers of a war-ravaged world that may hold the answers she has always sought.

4stars

This book was spectacular. I’m not kidding. The only reason I gave it four stars, was because I was so busy and couldn’t really read that much and because I couldn’t get through the beginning, but after that it got so amazing.

The back says: “I wish I had written this” and they’re right. I can’t even begin to explain how beautifully thought out this was. I mean, the imagination is amazing, the fantasy is ground-breaking and the purpose is wonderful. To bring peace. That’s the purpose, the main goal.

I wish I had read this in a day and not in a month, because I was hooked. Due to school I couldn’t really get myself to read or to read all day long, but looking back, Karou really did made an impression on me. So did Brimstone and Akiva and Madrigal. These were characters that felt so real, so close, yet so far away. Characters you would trade places with in an instance. I would, though.

But I’ll tell you, you need to read this book. It’s so gorgeous and creative and incredible. Dive into the world of Elsewhere. Get to know the Chimaera and the Angels. And get to know Prague. Prague was described beautifully and now all I want to do is visit it. I can’t wait to get my hands on the sequels, but for now I’ll leave it here. I’ll visit Karou again soon.

 

Geef een reactie

